2. The Artless Begin to be Artful

IMG_6646

Driving under an overpass in Los Angeles

https://illustrationsbyjessie.wordpress.com/2014/10/01/intermediate-painting-part-1/

Jessie Vittoria’s work is phenomenal. She is an amazing painter on a level I am not close to. Let’s compare:

(Jessie’s)
IMG_9278

(Mine)

My piece was a diptych (two-series painting) which derived from a collage I had created from magazine scraps. While the level of detail in my work is presentable and not bad for a beginner, it is precise while her work has a lighter, whimsical tone. She seems to have a controlled hand with the lightness of the circles within her art. She has freedom as an experienced painter to go where the paintbrush takes her. I struggled to paint within the lines I had recreated from the original collage. I am also a perfectionist, which tends to dominate my focus on details.

It’s interesting to point out that anyone is capable of recreating a collage piece like I have. One can just trace what they want to repaint using either a light box or even the light through a window. Some people like a more structural approach, such as using the grid method. This can make things a lot easier especially if you want to recreate the original image smaller or larger. It becomes much easier for some people to work one square at a time rather than estimate where the eyes are in reference to the nose, for example.

There’s always a choice when it comes to art. Whether it’s more comfortable to draw/paint from reference or use the grid method with an original photo, the final product is still a work of art. Everyone is capable of being an artist, no matter the level of experience they hold; it’s a matter of practice and perseverance. My artwork has come a long way to what I’ve seen myself create. Sometimes I surprise myself, even with the painting shown above. I will have to find an earlier piece I did and show the progress, maybe even recreate it now.

Leave a comment